News

Oct 30, 2020

Battle Royale comes to Age of Empires II: Definitive Edition in the form of “Age Royale” in the November update

From Press Release:

This week on ageofempires.com, the Age of Empires Team was thrilled to share some of the first details about the November Anniversary Update coming to “Age of Empires II: Definitive Edition,” and to kick it off – we’ve planned a massive battle royale tournament to celebrate.

The first ever Age Royale tournament will provide the first look at the brand-new game mode coming to “Age of Empires II: Definitive Edition” and the action kicks off this weekend on Saturday, Oct. 31 at 15:00 UTC / 8:00 a.m. PT / 11 a.m. ET.

In Battle Royale, up to 8 players begin a free-for-all match with only a few units under their control. As they explore the map, they’ll find and capture military and supply buildings that grant resources for the fight ahead; the more you control, the faster you can bolster and replenish your armies! The contest will be bought until there’s one combatant left standing, with the tournament winner in line for a $10,000 USD Age Royale tournament prize.

The single-day Age Royale tournament will continue until one Battle Royale Champion is crowned! Fans can watch the tournament at ageofempires.com, on Twitch or you can visit the streaming channels of any of the contestants playing during the event.

“Age of Empires II: Definitive Edition” has been delighting players for nearly a year now, and Battle Royale is just one of the newest features coming to the game with the Anniversary Update this November. To keep up on the latest Age of Empires news, visit ageofempires.com. See you on the battlefield!